Australia, here are your International Woolmark Prize nominees for 2017

Recognising our country’s best emerging design talent.

The International Woolmark Prize is undoubtedly considered the award for emerging talent. So it’s always a little bit of ‘buzz’ moment when the shortlist is announced.

And today, it’s here.

This year’s Prize has seen 65 nominees named globally, with six designers selected from Australia and New Zealand. 

Without further ado, here are your nominees:


  • AMXANDER (Australia)
  • Chris Ran Lin (Australia) 
  • BLAIRARCHIBALD (Australia)


  • Elissa McGowan (Australia) 
  • Harman Grubiša (New Zealand) 
  • Thomas Puttick (Australia)

It’s a great year to be selected, with The Woolmark Company announcing it is “enhancing” the prize money for 2017. According to a press release, this means each nominee will start with $2000 to put towards their submission piece, ahead of the regional finals in July. The lucky regional menswear and womenswear winners will then receive $70,000 to go towards their final collection, with the ultimate champions walking away a massive $200,000.

Not bad for an emerging designer.

This year also brings with it the introduction of an Innovation Award. The new award has been created to recognise the most creative fabric or yarn development. Fitting, given it comes via The Woolmark Company.

The winner of the Innovation Award will receive $100,000 and a series of commercial opportunities. The textile mill responsible will also be promoted via The Woolmark Company’s global trade promotional program.

You can explore the work of all 65 nominees here


Lazy Loading