The Australian Fashion Foundation Award 2016 winners have been announced

Top notch.

The winners of the 2016 Australian Fashion Foundation Awards have been announced. Get ready to see these names everywhere. 

A big congratulations to La Trobe graduate and womenswear designer, Deanna Fanning, and UTS Honours graduate and menswear designer, Hannah Tan.

The Australian Fashion Foundation Awards are designed to give emerging Australian talent global recognition in the fashion industry, through practical experience and mentorship programs. 

This year’s line up of finalists delivered a short list of our top emerging designers, though the award is open to stylists, photographers, creative directors and all fashion industry professions.  

The judging panel included industry experts AUSFF co-founder Malcolm Carfrae, fashion stylist Brana Wolf, fashion designer Dion Lee, Harper’s Bazaar editor-in-chief Kellie Hush, Instyle US editor Laura Brown, fashion consultant and former VOGUE editor Nancy Pilcher and consultant Kara Hurry. 

The winners will receive a $20,000 grant and a six month internship in either New York City or Europe.

A new addition to the prize pack was announced at the event, which includes a visit to Woolmark Company’s new Hong Kong Wool Resource Centre. 

The tour will showcase China’s key manufacturers, spinners and weavers. The designers will also get the chance to meet with industry experts and discover the latest innovations in wool. 


Lazy Loading