Here are the nominees for the 2022 National Indigenous Fashion Awards


Recognising First Nations creatives for excellence across multiple award categories.

The Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation‘s (DAAFF) Indigenous Fashion Projects (IFP) has announced the line-up of nominees for its National Indigenous Fashion Awards (NIFA) for 2022.

The NIFA is an eagerly anticipated event on the fashion industry’s calendar, and showcases First Nations designers from all across Australia, including some of the most remote areas, on a national and global stage.

Discover more up-and-coming local designers in our Fashion section. 

The award was first launched in 2020, and its purpose is to celebrate the diversity, innovation and ethical practices of our country’s First Nations creatives working in fashion and textiles. For the third year in a row, Country Road is continuing its partnership with DAAFF and will be presenting the NIFA Fashion Design Award.

Country Road’s Brand Community and Impact Manager, Fabia Pryor, explains that “The winner will receive a 12-month mentorship with Country Road, allowing them to connect with leaders in the fashion industry, access in-depth insights into Country Road’s retail operations and receive consulting on the needs of their brand.”

The NIFA recognises excellence across the following six categories, and the nominees for 2022 include:

Traditional Adornment Award, supported by Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation

This award encourages the creation of traditional cultural regalia and recognises an individual or group that has created items that are worn to express or define their culture. This year’s nominees are:

  • Cassie Leatham, Yanggurdi, Wild Blak Arts
  • Esther Yarllarlla

Community Collaboration Award, supported by Canberra Centre

The Community Collaboration Award celebrates productive relationships between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and the textile and fashion industry. This year’s nominees are:

  • Mimili Maku Arts, Linda Puna x Unreal Fur
  • Djunngaal, Yarrabah Arts and Cultural Centre x Francoise Lane

Business Achievement Award, supported by Kin Fashion

This new award recognises an individual or a group for leadership and creative and commercial success in an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander business. This year’s nominees are:

  • Simone Arnol and Bernard Singleton (collaboration) – Prohibit
  • Laura Thompson, Clothing The Gaps
  • Denni Francisco, Ngali x Warmum Art
  • Nagula Jarndu
  • Bábbarra Designs

Textile Design Award, supported by RMIT

The Textile Design Award recognises an individual textile designer, including knitted, woven and other textile constructions such as printed, dyed or surface ornamented materials. This year’s nominees are:

  • Philomena Yeatman, Yarrabah Arts and Cultural Precinct
  • Briana Enoch, Jirawee
  • Lillardia Briggs-Housten, Ngarru Miimi
  • Eunice Napanangka Jack, Ikuntji Artists
  • Mavis Marks, Ikuntji Artists
  • Roseranna Larry, Ikuntji Artists

Wearable Art Award, supported by the Northern Territory Government

The Wearable Art Award recognises an individual designer who has created a single item (clothing, jewellery or an accessory) that demonstrates excellence in craft, design and artistic expression. This year’s nominees are:

  • Irene Robinson
  • Lillardia Briggs-Housten, Ngarru Miimi
  • Paul McCann
  • Mylene Holroyd

Fashion Designer Award, supported by Country Road

This award recognises an individual fashion designer that has excelled both commercially and creatively. This year’s nominees are:

  • Cheryl Creed, Murrii Quu Couture
  • Briana Enoch, Jirawee
  • Denni Francisco, Ngali x Warmun Art Centre

This year’s NIFA winners will be chosen by a panel of industry judges and announced on August 3. The Country to Couture runway will take place the day prior on August 2, and DAAFF will be running from August 5 to 7.

To find out more about DAAF, NIFA and the Country to Couture runway, head here.

Lazy Loading