loading
drag

NGV unveils a jazzy Friday Nights program for its MoMA exhibit

Images supplied
Words by James Di Fabrizio

Your winter is sorted.

While most limit our social activities through winter, NGV is giving us a reason to get out and about on Fridays for the next few months. The gallery has teamed up with the Melbourne International Jazz Festival to inject some NYC sound into your week.

From June 15 to October 5, lovers of music and art will be able to catch headlining acts – like Brooklyn-based trumpeter Maurice Brown, local group Cookin’ on Three Burners, hip-hop duo Remi and The Senegambian Jazz Band – as they take over the gallery for NGV Friday Nights. Other artists on the line-up include Zimbabwean RnB powerhouse thando, Australian musician Joe Chindamo, and vocalist Chris McNulty.

The jazz sounds of NYC are a perfect pairing for the exhibit, MoMA at NGV: 130 Years of Modern and Contemporary Art, which features over 200 artworks from Salvador Dali, Frida Kahlo, Jackson Pollock and more, that have rarely ever been seen outside New York.

Check out the full program below:

Cookin’ On 3 Burners with Stella Angelico
Friday 15 June

Barney McAll: Hearing the Blood
Friday 22 June

Joe Chindamo and Zoë Black
Friday 29 June

Joe Chindamo and Julie O’Hara
Friday 6 July

Sweet Sweet Spirit: Barney McAll Interprets Doris Akers
Friday 13 July

Andrea Keller’s Five Below
Friday 20 July

Joe Chindamo Trio and special guest
Friday 27 July

thando
Friday 3 August

Barney McAll: Non-Compliance Trio
Friday 10 August

Transients Trio #1
Friday 17 August

Transients Trio #2
Friday 24 August

The Senegambian Jazz Band
Friday 31 August

Chris McNulty
Friday 7 September

Linda Oh and Fabian Almazan
Friday 14 September

Speedball
Friday 21 September

Remi
Friday 28 September

Maurice Brown
Friday 5 October

Lazy Loading