IMG reveals finalists for the 2019 Australian fashion laureate

Words by Tess Macallan

Fashion glory.

IMG has just announced the finalists for the 2019 Fashion Laureate.

The award recognises the creative talent of individuals who have made an impact in the Australian fashion industry, and promoted Australian fashion globally.

A voting panel of 30 industry leaders come together to nominate and choose the winners. Previous recipients include names such as Edwina McCann, Dion Lee, Zimmermann and Carla Zampatti.

Alongside the Laureate, awards are given across categories including Womenswear, Menswear, Retailer, Accessories, Model of the Year, Outstanding Creative and Emerging Talent.

This year, IMG has also introduced a new category, Sustainable Innovation. Presented by GlamCorner, this award recognises brands that are pioneering sustainable practices, implementing strategic goals, or demonstrating leadership in sustainability.

The 2019 finalists for the Australian Fashion Laureate include founder of Australian Vogue Bernie Leser, InStyle US Editor-in-Chief and 2016 Australian Fashion Foundation Awards Judge Laura Brown, publishing and media personality Maggie Tabberer, and Australian Fashion Foundation Founder Malcolm Carfrae.

Bassike, Bianca Spender, Christopher Esber and Lee Matthews are finalists in the Best Australian Womenswear Designer category, while Blair Archibald, Chris Ran Lin, Double Rainbouu and Ex Infinitas are in the Best Australian Menswear Designer category.

The Best Australian Emerging Talent category, presented by Etihad Airways, comprises Anna Quan, Jacinta James, Matteau, and Yousef Akbar.

Bassike, Incu, Lee Mathews and Lucy Folk are the finalists for Best Australian Retailer, while By Nye, Holly Ryan, Sarah and Sebastian and Ryan Storer make up the Best Australian Accessories category.

Charlee Fraser, Duckie Thot, Julia Nobis and Robyn Lawley are finalists for Model of the Year, and the finalists of the Sustainable Innovation category are Bassike, Elk, Kitx, and Outland Denim.

The Outstanding Creative category comprises Vogue Australia Fashion Director and Wardrobe NYC Co-Founder Christine Centenera, Creative Director of Vogue Australia and GQ Australia Jillian Davison, Harper’s Bazaar Australia Fashion Director Naomi Smith, and Marie Claire Fashion Director Jana Pokorny.

Winners will be announced on 23 October at a celebratory luncheon at Café Sydney on Sydney Harbour.


Lazy Loading